HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Book list
A few years ago, I usually made it my goal to read 50 books each year. I often made the mark, or close to it, even though I also counted things such as plays and long poems.

Last night, I finished a book for the first time in months. I honestly don't remember if I finished a book at all this year prior to yesterday, so I'm starting with a new list. I'll keep this post updated with the books I finish, and if I ever feel bored, I'll glance at the list and realize how much I need to be reading again.

I also showed my face again at the literature forums I frequented years ago, and so far have been pretty inspired to begin reading like a fiend again.


Currently reading: Neuromancer by William Gibson

1. The King's Evil, Will Heinrich, * * * *
Incredible novel, rich in Biblical symbolism (though not at all religious) and a plot that will keep you up the rest of the night just to finish the book.
(8-18-08)

2. Nausea, Jean-Paul Sartre, * * *
"This is what I thought: for the most banal even to become an adventure, you must (and this is enough) begin to recount it. This is what fools people: a man is always a teller of tales, he lives surrounded by his stories and the stories of others, he sees everything that happens to him through them; and he tries to live his own life as if he were telling a story."
(10-18-08)

3. Body Story, Julia De Pree * * * *
Breathtaking memoir not about life with an eating disorder, but life and an eating disorder.

4. Slaughterhouse-Five, Kurt Vonnegut * *
I could've lived without having read this one. I wasn't impressed with Vonnegut, despite the fact that it's a war novel (my favorite "genre").

5. Conversations with the Devil, Jeff Rovin * *
Not much to say about this one. It was fairly shitty but had its moments.
(12-08-08)

6. The Subtle Knife, Philip Pullman * * * * *
Absolutely brilliant. When I realized what was actually going on, I just about shat myself. Cannot wait to read the last book in the trilogy.
(01-10-09)

7. Watchmen, Alan Moore * * *
Decent enough. I hope the movie isn't terrible.

prev - next

2008-08-18 @ 4:25 p.m.