HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
It's so easy until you have to convince the subconscious.
I'm wondering if I'm going about this all wrong.

A lyric is telling me not to embrace the past. Someone wrote in their journal that the past is in the past for a reason.

I've approached life with the idea that the more experiences I have, the better person I'll be. I assume that others see me in this light as well, and imagine me worthless because I don't have the same experiences. This proves disastrous, since I spend most of my time with people significantly older than I am. I begin putting myself down because I haven't done nearly as much in my life than I feel like I should have at this age, and I lose confidence in the things I finally experience.

But does it really make as big a difference as I think it does? Some experiences aren't worth even having, and I'll get to the important ones eventually. I've grown a lot in the past two years, and accomplished a lot more than I imagined, so there really isn't a reason I should be kicking myself down because my life isn't as exciting as others'.

I call bullshit.

The trick, now, is convincing my subconscious mind that it's full of shit.

prev - next

2008-08-17 @ 2:06 p.m.