HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
148
I agreed to see an old friend this Saturday for lunch. I'm honestly not sure why she wants to -- we haven't been very close in the past several years. I even took her off my Facebook feed so long back that I don't know what's going on in her life. And even more puzzling is that she said I'm one of the few people she likes to keep in touch with, and she wants me to meet her new boyfriend.

The last time we talked (over Facebook), I ended up bawling in my car, because after explaining to her how things were with my ex, she told me she would have had "too much pride" or self-worth or whatever it was to do anything other than dump his ass. And I took that as an insult, insinuating that I didn't have any pride or self-worth.

Which I didn't. But it's harder hearing it from someone else. If I were a better person I would have broken up with him 8 months before it happened. But we were living together, and I didn't want to leave his kids. If it were just him, it might have been easier. But I didn't want it to seem like I was abandoning them. They considered me a parent. It was hard enough dealing with it when I had no choice.

Anyway. I digress.

I don't know what to do about this situation. Most people probably wouldn't sit around worrying about a lunch date with an old friend. But I worry about any and all social situations, so. There it is. I'm worried.

Mostly, I don't know what to say about myself. Catching up. There's nothing to catch up, really. I've become even more boring since we last saw each other. Even more weird. And I know she's going to ask about my love life, and I really don't know how to explain it without her reacting in what I will likely find an insulting manner.

The truth is that I never want to date again. I don't like relationships, I don't have a sex drive, I don't have much of a capacity for romantic love, and I can't imagine being around someone long enough to hold a relationship longer than about a year. It's not a priority at this point in my life.

I experimented with men a bit (that's what it really was -- an experiment), but I've finally solidified the idea that I don't like them physically. I don't want anything to do with them. And I know if I tried to explain that, they would probably assume I'm gay, which is... I guess a half-truth. But I'm not interested in sex with women, either, even though I find them more pleasing aesthetically. So the closest truth is that I'm asexual, since I have no inclination to have sex again for the rest of my life, and since most people don't even know what that means, I don't know what to say about it all.

There's no point in dating if they'll never get anything out of it. For whatever reason, people want sex. I don't get it, but I'm at least I don't judge them for wanting it. I don't want to be seen as abnormal.

I suppose I could just side-step the matter altogether. But I genuinely have nothing else to talk about.

I go to work. I go to class. I read. I listen to music while researching new music. I go on Facebook. I go to the library. I sleep.

That's it. That's literally it. I'm just biding my time until I can get the hell out of here. And to be honest, I don't know what I'll do with myself once I don't have school to keep me busy. I'll read more. I'll play more video games. Maybe I'll pick up some hobbies, but they won't stick.

Should I talk about my depression? My self-inflicted concussion? My struggle with anti-depressants? My fear that one of my co-workers dislikes me?

These are the only things happening in my life. I'm a boring person. I feel like people say that a lot and don't really mean it. But I feel as though I literally am. I bore myself sometimes.

But mostly I'm just ashamed. People don't react well to my desires and priorities. The co-worker I think dislikes me keeps obsessing over my diet choices. Arguing about and teasing me about my choice to avoid meat. It's getting old, to the point where I tell myself I won't speak to him anymore. Not unless I have to. He's practically my boss, so I keep failing.

I just want to stop talking altogether. Should I talk to them about that? "I get sick of my own voice, and the stupid things I talk about, so on a near daily basis I tell myself I won't speak, and then fail." Should I talk about my borderline eating disorder? How I grab my skin and cry? How I can't look at myself in the mirror?

I don't know. I want to cancel. I don't know why she cares about seeing me. Why she ever liked me in the first place.

I can't do this no-antidepressant thing. God. The "I hate myself" monologue has returned after only a couple days. It was entirely absent for weeks. It's amazing how a sentence will return just from lack of fluoxetine in my sytem.

prev - next

2014-07-18 @ 12:15 a.m.