HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Returning to a time of teen angst, but in a good way
Grabbed some random CDs this morning for the drive to the university. One of them was Azure Ray's Hold On Love, because it had been years, but I vaguely remembered enjoying it.

And. God. It was like visiting an old lover. The album is perfect. Came out ten years ago. I've been listening to them nonstop on Spotify since then. Their other albums. Somehow I accidentally slept through Hold On Love so that I didn't even notice it had played. But I wanted to focus on the other stuff, anyway.

I think it makes a difference when I can relate to some of the lyrics. Back then, I had no life experience. I suppose I still don't think I do. But things are different now.

Azure Ray just oozes beauty and magic and flowers and nature and the woods and spontaneous cross-country bus rides. I don't know how, but they do. Their voices meld into one and harmonize perfectly. They make the word 'fuck' sound so elegant. And I heart it.

So now I feel like revisiting Saddle Creek. Maybe not Bright Eyes, but there are a lot of other great bands. The Faint has always been a staple throughout the last ten years. Tim Kasher, of Cursive, is putting out a solo album. Cursive wrote the album I considered my favorite for several years, and made me want to learn the cello, and they were even my first concert. The first one that wasn't with a parent, anyway. That was, yeah, about ten years ago. Crazy.

I don't recognize a lot of the bands on SC now. But I suppose I'll have to remedy that.

prev - next

2013-09-26 @ 8:59 p.m.