HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Mix for mom
I bought a new paper journal yesterday. I had this entry planned out to say that all I wanted was to write on paper, and as soon as I have one, I can't write in it. Oddly enough, though, I've written quite a bit in it.

Funny how my brain works. I must have jinxed myself. Or I'm just too damn negative.

I made a mix for my mother. She listens to music while she works and we can never agree on music in the car, so I thought I would scrape together what I could from my collection to find the most normal music I have for her. Here's what I have so far:

Massive Attack - Teardrop
Diablo Swing Orchestra - Gunpowder Chant
Beats Antique - Tabla Toy
Dead Can Dance - Rakim (live)
Cryo - Counting Down Again
Crystal Method - Smile?
Muse - Map of the Problematique
Nick Drake - Cello Song
Junip - Rope and Summit
Warpaint - Billie Holiday

This shows how hard it is for me to find "normal" music. I fear she's going to hate it despite my effort, but I'm confident that she'll go against her nature and find something good somewhere in there. If she doesn't, it's the last time I'll try to reach out to her in this way.

But man. There's everything on here from 70s folk to industrial. If she can't find a good song on here, then I might be right in assuming that she actively hates whatever I like.

prev - next

2010-06-13 @ 9:46 p.m.