HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Atonement
I think most people don't put enough time and effort into music. Finding good music, that is. I ask someone new what they listen to, and it's always very mainstream. This is fine, music is usually popular for a reason. But they only listen to what they're fed, and don't dig. I find this terribly disappointing. They might listen to what they think is good, but don't realize what else is out there.

Then there are the people like me, who dig a little too far. We dig ourselves into a hole, and can't even see what's above us in the mainstream. The benefit of this, though, is that we know exactly what we like. We've been digging for years, and it's nice when you finally find a niche, and before you know it, it's the only thing you've focused on for years.

But I wonder if this is healthy. I've always known myself to be musically gifted, and have always been obsessed on some level. I used to be able to hear music in my head, but I somehow "grew out of it". But why do I rely on music for so much of my life, even my identity? Why is it so important?

prev - next

2008-08-31 @ 12:06 a.m.