HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Goddamn the desert
I think I would like to take a vow of silence for a day, tomorrow. Just to see if I can. I like the idea of a silent day.

And I would like to move any evidence of my existence out of the rest of the house and contain it all in my room. Sneak out only when no one is around to see me. Minimize my existence.

I may try staying up late so I can sleep most of tomorrow. Either that or get up early and leave, though I don't know where. Library? Lake Havasu? LA? St. George? I have no interest in seeing my family but don't want to spend money, either.

The road used to be my savior. It didn't matter where I was going, I just liked seeing the road stretch, endless, into the desert. I could drive and drive and drive and just turn around and come back, exhilarated. Now I wish there could be a destination beyond, but there hasn't been in quite some time. Nowhere I can stay, anyway. The closest city worth visiting is hundreds of miles away.

And it'll be hundreds of days before I'm able to finally say goodbye to this place. I think perhaps I'll never return to Vegas, if I don't have to. I'm hoping to never need a reason to.

But that's what I said last time.

prev - next

2014-01-03 @ 11:39 p.m.