HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
And I say I hate symbolism...
The length of my hair was symbolic for most of my life. Long hair represented innocence, and cutting it represented starting anew or growing up.

Portland was the last time it was cut with the symbolism in mind. Since then, it's become a ritual more than anything else. A haircut is when I'm bored with myself and need a change, but I look at my co-workers and am sad that they don't see haircuts in the same way. I look at myself and wonder if all those years I was just trying to force myself to grow up, and wanted to find any way to feel less like a child.

I think I'll grow it out again, at least for the next year. A year from now will be a drastic change in my life, I'm hoping.

I'm consciously trying to lessen any damage by not washing the roots as thoroughly, eating walnuts and no longer blow-drying it. D's hair is down to the middle of his back, and although I know mine will never be as nice and thick as his, I really want long hair again.

prev - next

2009-06-23 @ 7:02 p.m.