HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
15
When I added the '15' title for this entry, it suggested I add 157 or 158. I can't believe it's been this long already, and graduating is right around the corner. It felt like a lifetime would have to pass for this end to finally approach.

There really isn't much more work to be done. No classes until Study Week, when we're technically not supposed to learn new material, and then after that is finals. I only have one actual final at a set time, and the rest will be writing. This weekend I want to get as much done as possible, so I can chill for the last week.

And then I'll have a degree. I don't care about that, really, I just want it to be over.

I have a tentative move-in date for an apartment in Tigard on January 9. It's being held for me; just pending the application. I put in my resignation at work, and if I fail any of my classes, well. I haven't decided yet what will happen. I may move anyway, and put all this shit on hold. Maybe try to just pay for and take the one online class I'll need, or work it out with a professor to take the class by email.

I can't even imagine what it'll feel like to be done. I'll either be sad for no real reason or I'll be ecstatic. Perhaps a bit of both. My entire life has revolved around school. It was all I wanted as a teenager. And the experience wasn't at all what I expected it to be. I never should have gone for a BA, and I think it's one of my biggest regrets in life. If I had done it when I was younger, and the "right" age I might feel different. But I'm also glad I didn't do it then, because I was not emotionally capable to handle it then any more than I am now.

So. Yeah. I'm 28 and finally finishing. I feel 18 half the time. Maybe 22 or 23 on good days. So I guess I'm graduating at the right time for me.

But I have the feeling I won't know what to do with the rest of my life. I suppose that's normal. But I've experimented, already, with all the things that are supposed to make my life fulfilling and I've decided they're not for me. (Relationships, friendships, children, love, a difficult career.) I'll have fitness, at least, but who knows how long that will keep me going.

prev - next

2014-11-27 @ 12:32 p.m.