HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
144
I would really like to just be surrounded by books. Devote my life to them. I keep having visions of my future home library -- a room devoted entirely to books. I've been thinking about having a two-bedroom apartment so that I can have a guest room, but then it occurred to me that books are far more important to me than guests. And I certainly have enough of them to get their own room. My books have a life of their own, I think.

That sounds like a fabulous concept for a story. Hm.

I think that's probably what will happen once I graduate. I'll just end up reading all the time, and won't have a life. But my favorite days are the ones where I read all day, so. I guess that's plenty of a life, if that's what I want.

I found a bunch of books for, altogether, $3.50 today. I get so excited about these finds at the used book store in the Clark County Library that I almost want to create a Youtube channel just to rant about my bi-weekly book hauls. A list doesn't really do it justice -- part of the fun is that many of them are vintage paperbacks and have crazy sci-fi/fantasy cover art from the 60s, 70s and 80s.

Today I found:

Kristin Lavransdatter: I, The Bridal Wreath, Sigrid Undset
The Golden Notebook, Doris Lessing
Nana, Emile Zola
Millennial Women, ed. by Virginia Kidd
The New Women of Wonder, ed. by Pamela Sargent
Wise Child, Monica Furlong
Cards of Grief, Jane Yolen
Child of Saturn, Teresa Edgerton

The store had more of the "Women of Wonder" series, so if I like the stories in this one, I might stop off on the way home from the university to grab the others. In a way I'm not sure why I wouldn't like it, because it's science fiction by women, for women, published in the 70s. It's bound to be amazing.

Right now for the bookclub I'm reading Greywalker by Kat Richardson. I'm impressed so far -- very well written and a fun read. Much better than last month's pick, which I didn't even finish because I hated it so much. I'm hoping to get Greywalker done by next week so I can move on to my new purchases.

I have to finish reading Julius Caesar for class tomorrow, and I have to get started on my Native American readings. So I'd best get to work and stop dreaming about books.

prev - next

2014-07-15 @ 8:17 p.m.