HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
207
I have to be up at 6:30am and I have 7 pages due tomorrow that I haven't started yet. I also have my German final due on Thursday. I'm thinking I might need to call in tomorrow, I guess depending on how much I get done tonight. Thankfully, this professor wants us to literally just "think and write", because we barely had any lectures this semester, so I might be able to get it done faster than I would any kind of research paper. I can also write about literally anything I want, which in some respects is bad because it ends up taking too much time to just figure out what would make wordcount.

This week, instead of writing and studying for the last week of classes, I've been reading the most terrible sci-fi romance ever written, called Hunter's Claim. There is so much wrong with this book, I don't even know where to begin. Hunter is the main male character, who is also a warrior alien (who I pictured as a non-blue Na'vi [from Avatar]). A human "female" (he always calls her a "female") saves his life, so he "claims" her as his mate while she's unconscious, against her will. He then kidnaps her and her sisters on his star raider and she decides really quickly, for absolutely no reason, that she's ridiculously in love with him. I don't even know how this shit got published, honestly. It was never edited, either -- there are so many grammar and spelling mistakes it makes me want to scream. Apparently she's put out like 20 books, which I'm sure aren't edited either, and just. Ugh. I feel like emailing her and saying, "Hey. I'll edit your shit for $20 a book."

It's almost like Twilight in a way, because while you're reading it you're laughing and moaning and rolling your eyes, yet... you keep reading. For no reason, other than the fact that it's a fucking train wreck.

I did it for the Vaginal Fantasy book club, and this was seriously the worst thing I've ever read. It's almost challenging me to write my own novel, because I really think I could have done better, and she's charging $3.99 for this thing. (I did not, however, pay for it, because I suspected it would be terrible.)

But according to her website, she's a USA Today and International Best Selling Author! I don't understand! Does this mean I can produce shit and still get recognized for it? Is that how art works? Because I can do that. I can produce shit very easily, you guys.

God. Whatever. I should just write my papers now.

prev - next

2014-05-13 @ 5:53 p.m.