HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Best at Making Up Excuses
In the fifth grade, I was named Best at Making Up Excuses. I've always taken it fairly seriously (and my mother often reminds me of it when I try to get out of something), but I think that maybe it was just chance.

When we first voted, Brittany and Michael won nearly everything. This made our teacher furious, as they were the most popular kids in class and I mean really, who else would win "Best Hair" and "Prettiest Smile"?

So we were given a list of all the kids in class, and we had to name each student for something before we doubled up on names. And because of this, I won Best at Making Up Excuses. I really don't remember making any excuses in the fifth grade, which is why I think it might have been bs.

Regardless, it certainly fits me now.

I'm going to work on telling the truth from now on. All my excuses usually pin the blame on myself because I tread far too lightly on others' feelings, but it usually winds up making me come across as some unhealthy hermit who hates everyone. When that's not the case.

It's very likely that I just don't like you. Because if I'm willing to go out and see someone, it's because I really like them. If someone strikes me as creepy in any way, I'm going to use excuses to get me out of everything.

And while it is true that I'm an introvert by nature, no one is an island. Sometimes it's just that I'd rather be alone than deal with specific people.

prev - next

2010-07-27 @ 8:58 a.m.