HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Because I like writing the rules
Today while coding Java (actually, while eating "breakfast" between coding sessions) I realized just why I love programming: Programming is more or less using algebra to get work done, and I love math. The logic of it. But the key difference between programming and math is that when you're programming, you're writing your own rules rather than just following them. I'm sure it's the same for math once you reach beyond simply turning problems in to your professor, but there's something about finding the best way for a program to run that makes me giddy.

This is also why I prefer Linux over Windows: Linux knows you're boss, and welcomes it. Windows says, "No. I know how to do this. You can't tell me otherwise, or you'll void the warranty. What a jackass..."

prev - next

2009-06-20 @ 12:11 p.m.