HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Entagled in your marionette strings
I'm going through some of my favorite songs. I was thinking today that my taste in music of late, though I love it to death, is fairly... shallow. I don't know how to explain this other than saying, "It's shallow, though it's not."

I'm mostly concerned with lyrics today. There aren't too many songs in my collection that have lyrics worth trying to translate from the growls. Tristania. That's the only one, really. The rest are there for the music, and this is fine. That's what music is for, after all. Sound waves. The dancing of separate frequencies. I've never found the lyrical content to be of much importance, which ultimately led me to listen to the most Satanic music available on the market.

I kind of miss that aspect of music, though. Being able to relate to something. And honestly, I don't know how many bands have decent lyrics, because it was never something I truly focused on. Unless it's in another language. If it's in German, my first instinct is to translate.

I just feel like I need a little more substance in what I listen to. For today, anyway. It seems important to me today, for some reason, that I have words to focus on. I've also been thinking about listening to lectures on CD whenever I feel like being lazy on the computer (which is almost every moment of my free time). Perhaps I just want to soak up as much information as possible, and I expect to be able to learn something from lyrics.

prev - next

2009-04-12 @ 11:17 p.m.