HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
In which we state the obvious.
Today I almost chewed out my mother for telling me everything I do is wrong. When I'm driving, for instance. "Go slower, you took that corner kind of fast, you didn't signal soon enough." All the while, she clutches at anything she can get ahold of and often tries to hit the brake herself on the passenger side.

I feel like this is a pattern. I used to just sit back and take it; I learned very well the depressed, "I'm done with this" face, resting my head on my fist. She did this in the car today, while I decided if I should begin screaming at her. "Why is it that I never do anything right in your eyes?"

I can't leave anything in the living room. I can't decorate my room the way I want (the walls are a disgusting shade of green, and I am not allowed to paint). She makes the depressed face if I watch poker or fights on TV. I try to compromise with music in the car, but she hates even the classical I put on (the style of music she likes most, and she doesn't let me change the station away from classical; why does it make a difference when it's on my iPod?).

I'm just tired of it. And I think this might be a major key in the issues I'm trying to resolve at this stage in my life.

prev - next

2008-10-05 @ 6:42 p.m.