HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Same Old Thing
I tend to be an elitist, pretentious bitch. I'll be the first to admit that, because I think I hide it well. I'm never obvious about it; the interests I develop take ahold of me deeply, and it's difficult to ignore until it passes. If it ever does.

Music is mainly what I'm thinking of. I've been a part of the more pretentious music-based subcultures: goth and metal, mostly. In both, people tend to scoff at anyone who listens to music outside of their respective realm (though goths tend to be quite a bit more lenient than metalheads).

I'm trying to keep my mind open to other things today, listening to new releases from bands I either liked before or never heard in the first place because they weren't metal enough.

This was mostly brought on because a friend of mine, a metalhead for most of his life (he was in a successful band, even) admitted that he enjoyed the new Britney Spears album. I'm not going to go so far as to listen to Britney, but it made me wonder why being "true" matters so much to people. There's more to life, and especially music, than metal.

So I'm currently listening to the new Black Keys album, and loving it. I've always liked this band, granted, because they have the same qualities I enjoy in metal. I'm working on finding other things that specifically aren't metal. (Such as Alison Krauss/Robert Plant, another one I used to like, years ago when I wasn't quite as big an asshole.) I think it'll be good for me.

I might actually develop something in common with most of the world soon!

prev - next

2008-08-25 @ 2:55 p.m.