HOME OLDER PROFILE NOTES DIARYLAND
// //
Filling the shoes of a budding code-monkey
Years ago, I tried getting together enough templates to create a design diary. I had the diary up and running, a shitty name for it, and then worked on developing templates with half-stolen code and a next-to-nothing knowledge of HTML. It was a huge success, I can assure you. (/sarcasm)

Now that I'm older, wiser, have better knowledge of how websites work as a whole, and am addicted to Bluefish (yes, I'm one of those crazy Linux people; I don't even dual-boot!), I'm thinking of giving it another shot.

This template was designed on Bluefish from scratch, with only quick references to HTML help websites and older code (mostly in terms of CSS, which I almost always just copied and never memorized). This is probably the most simple design a person could come up with unless you were to resign to Times New Roman and no tables. Let's say instead, then, that this is the simplest decent looking design a person could come up with. I had a lot of fun working on it, was surprised at how quickly I remembered everything, and it didn't take very long. This could get addicting very quickly.

But the real reason I want to start designing templates again is because I've been thinking about getting into web development. My ex was a web developer, worked from home, and made a shitload of money. (Those aren't the reasons I want to do it, but damn if I'm not excited about those perks.) I think I have just the right amount of OCD to pull it off successfully, and I've been wanting to get into computers anyway because I think that, if I were to play my cards right and prove I know what I'm doing, I could have the upperhand of being female. I know others who freelance and have experience with portfolios, and one person who taught himself everything and landed a great paying job developing for Liberty Mutual, so I'm thinking that I could really run with this as long as I'm willing to put the time and energy into it. I'll be self-taught for now, but eventually may take classes. We'll see.

In the meantime, because filling the shoes of a budding code-monkey is a tough job, I feel like I need to get a slice of pizza somewhere. I'm used to being able to just walk out the front door of my apartment building in Portland and finding dozens of places for a slice and a beer within walking distance, so it's a tad alarming when I realize that you have to drive to get anywhere in this city. I might be able to convince someone to drive with me, but if not, we can always have one delivered.

prev - next

2008-08-16 @ 2:11 p.m.